Nomadic Identity

I am brand new to hifi so I do not post this to change anything, only to explain a few of my positions.

Discord, alongside with anything with reference to game resources are blocked by the Corporate Firewall. So building a community around it might not the best choice.

In my opinion - asking your community to build itself around someone else’s legal constructs is a bridge too far these days. I would use GPL-compatible software licenses, and CC-compatible content licenses and use my own TOS, EULA, whatever. I would not use those by Google, Facebook, Twitter, or the hundreds of likes that are out there.

As a reference, I did participate in a Discord forum in the past, for developing Open Dominion. Nothing against any individual or the noble project to resurrect a true classic - but the discussion was chaotic. There are just too many relevant subjects, and the individual’s purpose for being there gets lost quickly.

Almost instantly I had a feeling that High Fidelity is building around the still new and exciting concept of Nomadic Identity. In the last few months I started hosting Hubzilla servers to learn about that concept, and so far I am just connecting the dots. However I would assume that the main user forum of High Fidelity is going to be something compatible with that?

As of right now I am still abit confused, I do not understand what and where is the “official” forum, and if that is the “only” one. I also did not understand that installing the Interface REQUIRES serious hardware - just any OpenGL 4.1 PC. This is likely to be my own isolated problem as I never played any ‘serious’ games so what do I know? Yet, some “Recommended Hardware” page would be very, very helpful to me.

Thanks for reading

• sandor
2 Likes

Well, welcome Sandor for joining! It is nice to see you.